The idea to merge the AMA’s Mark of Excellence and the PRSA’s Empire awards programs sprang from a friendly conversation about memories of past awards. Each program had sunset for various reasons, including the sheer amount of work that events like these require. However, the lack of an awards event for local marketing communications professionals left a noticeable void. That conversation created a spark; we realized that by working together we could rekindle the tradition of recognizing the excellent work and outstanding achievements of our members and other Capital Region marketing communications professionals, as well.

While PRSA Capital Region’s Empire Awards honored outstanding PR and Public Affairs and NYCRAMA’s Mark of Excellence Awards recognized exceptional marketing, the two organizations’ events were similar. Both held their awards ceremonies in the fall and historically had experienced robust participation in terms of entries submitted and attendance. Most importantly, each awards program recognized work that brought results. Given these similarities, and the growing crossover between marketing and public relations, it seemed only natural to work together instead of separately.

Hence, the Capital Region MARCOM Awards was born, honoring the best in Capital Region marketing communications.

2019 Special Honors

Marketer/Communicator of the Year
Sara Reginelli
Capitalize Albany Corporation

Marketing/Communications Practitioner of the Year
Michael Roach
Michael Roach Creative

2018 Special Honors

Marketer/Communicator of the Year
Reg Harnish
GreyCastle Security

Marketing/Communications Practitioner of the Year
Kathy Leary McCarthy
Senior Regional Director, Communications
American Heart Association

2017 Special Honors

Marketer/Communicator of the Year
Pamela Clarke
Head of School
Doane Stuart School

Marketing/Communications Practitioner of the Year
Joseph Brennan, PhD, APR
Vice President of Communications and Marketing
University at Albany

2016 Special Honors

Dr. John Bennett 2016 MARCOM Marketer/Communicator of the Year

Marketer/Communicator of the Year
John Bennett, MD, FACC, FACP

NYCRAMA Mark of Excellence Logo

Previous Marketer of Excellence Honorees
New York Capital Region Chapter of the American Marketing Association (NYCRAMA)

2013 – Thomas L. Amell
2012 – George Hearst III
2011 – John DeCelle
2010 – Beth Wales
2009 – No Award
2008 – Elmer Streeter
2007 – E. Kristin Frederick
2006 – Dr. Alan Chartock
2005 – Robert Provost
2004 – Joseph L. Bruno
2003 – Lyn Taylor and Kelly Lovell
2002 – Dr. Karen Hitchcock
2001 – Lewis Golub
2000 – William Dake
1999 – Wallace Altes
1998 – John C. Egan

Previous Outstanding Communicator Honorees
Public Relations Society of America (PRSA) NY Capital Region Chapter

2015 – Susan Arbetter
2014 – Phillip Morris
2013 – Carolyn Jones
2012 – Matt Baumgartner
2011 – Dr. Alain E. Kaloyeros
2010 – Ed Lewi
2009 – Linda Hillman
2008 – Pamela Sawchuk Brown

Previous Outstanding Practitioner Honorees
Public Relations Society of America (PRSA) NY Capital Region Chapter

2015 – Paul Larrabee, APR
2014 – Rob Puglisi
2013 – Edward Parham
2012 – Penelope Vavura, APR
2011 – Tom Nardacci
2010 – Ben Marvin
2009 – Jonathan Pierce, APR
2008 – Jo Ann LeSage Nelson, APR